The ideological differences within Burmese political groups, including military leaders and different ethnic groups, have historically seen “Burman” or “Myanmar” viewed. That is the definition.

Successive military-dominated governments since 1962 have held the idea that the current state has been a unified state for thousands of years since the reign of King Anawrahta of Bagan. Therefore, non-Burman ethnic groups must limit their demands for equal rights so as not to divide their country as a minority group. There was the idea of ​​control. In contrast, the Union of Burma, a non-Burman ethnic group, was an independent frontier that was incorporated under British colonial India, which merged on an equal footing when the colonial government left in 1948. It is considered a political group.

Theoretically, the current political map has a form of proportional representation for ethnic groups. For the majority ethnic groups, there are seven states (Chin, Kachin, Kayin, Kayah, Mon, Rakhine and Shan) and seven predominantly Burman regions (formerly Divisions). But in a world dominated by military and centralized politics, there is no real balance of true autonomy.

Today, differing ideas are still reflected in Panglong. The monument, which commemorates the historic treaty, proclaimed “the unification of the mainland and the mountains.” Yet, the “mainland” could not be considered the center of the Burman majority, and the “mountains” that had been under Burmese rule before the colonial period could not be considered mountainous areas or sub-territories inhabited by non-Burmans. Today, Burma is a new, equal union that respects the political rights of all ethnic groups, as was agreed upon after independence. Panglong seems to want to repeat that fact. Without such an agreement, a new union would not have emerged.

As a result, the struggle for ethnic rights and equality continues to this day across the country. Looking back at Panglong, the ethnic leaders are committed to peace and stability. Stability and the common national symbol are the right to self-determination; Democracy It can be achieved through equitable distribution of resources and political power. They believe it can be guaranteed. Only then can we create a national identity and political system that is acceptable to all non-Burman ethnic groups.

But for the time being, most ethnic groups feel they are trapped under a form of colonial rule by their Burmese rulers. In fact, a new Diakite-style form of government, similar to the British-administered divisions of mainland Burma and the former border areas, appears to have emerged as part of the 2011 political changes under President Thein Sein. Although parliamentary system has emerged from the capital, Naypyidaw, at the heart of the country’s “mainland”, the ethnic states remain “mountainous” conflict areas under military rule and authority.

As a result, most ethnic groups feel excluded from participating in the country’s politics, even in the face of political change. Political repression will only result in continued ethnic instability, as military repression will never bring about ethnic equality. Sustainable peace and the rule of law can only be achieved if the Panglong Agreement, as agreed in 1947, restores the vision and policies of a common union of all ethnic groups.